Unity’s Timeline: “Getting the Loot” Cutscene

Marcus Cohee
2 min readAug 2, 2022

--

Hello all!

Today, I will be going over how to create a loot cutscene in Timeline!

Assets Used:

3rd Person Unity Starter Asset from the Unity Asset Store
Treasure chest, sword, and sound effects from GameDevHQ
Particles for gold sparkles
Virtual camera looking at the chest when a trigger occurs

Setting up the Cutscene:

I started by animating the door to open, then made the sword pop out after a second. I had a chest opening sound play when the chest opened and a cheering sound when the sword popped out. Shortly before the door opens all the way, I set the sparkle effect to be active.

Setting up the Trigger:

First, I added a cube around the chest with the mesh renderer turned off and its collider set to trigger. Then made a script with the director asset connected to it so when the player hits the trigger, the timeline plays then destroys itself.

That cutscene was rough around the edges, but that kind of thing would look great on a mobile device!

Next up, I will focus on using both Cinemachine and Timeline together to make something amazing!

Thank you for your time!

--

--

Marcus Cohee

I am starting Unity and learning the ropes as I go! Let’s take this journey together!